Mercedes driver Nico Rosberg won the Chinese Grand Prix on Sunday for his first career Formula One victory after starting from pole.

Rosberg won by a massive 20.6 seconds over McLaren’s Jenson Button after making just two pits stops and managing to hold off the rest of the field on worn tires.

Button’s McLaren teammate Lewis Hamilton was third, followed by Red Bull duo Mark Webber and Sebastian Vettel, who were fourth and fifth, respectively.

Defending champion Vettel started 11th on the grid and at one stage moved up to second, but couldn’t hold off Button, Hamilton and Webber in the closing stages.

Rosberg’s teammate, seven-time world champion Michael Schumacher, had started second, but retired from the race on lap 13 after his right front wheel wasn't fitted properly during his first pit stop.

McLaren leads the constructor standings with 88 points, followed by Red Bull in second with 64 and Ferrari on 37.

Results from the Formula One Chinese Grand Prix: 
1. Nico Rosberg, Germany, Mercedes, 1 hour, 36 minutes, 26.929 seconds, 56 laps.
2. Jenson Button, Britain, McLaren, 1:36:47.555, 56.
3. Lewis Hamilton, Britain, McLaren, 1:36:52.941, 56. 
4. Mark Webber, Australia, Red Bull, 1:36:54.853, 56.
5. Sebastian Vettel, Germany, Red Bull, 1:36:57.412, 56.
6. Romain Grosjean, France, Lotus, 1:36:58.420, 56.
7. Bruno Senna, Brazil, Williams, 1:37:01:526, 56.
8. Pastor Maldonado, Venezuela, Williams, 1:37:02.572, 56.
9. Fernando Alonso, Spain, Ferrari, 1:37:04.185, 56.
10. Kamui Kobayashi, Japan, Sauber, 1:37:05.649, 56. 

Drivers' Championship
1. Lewis Hamilton, McLaren, 45
2. Jenson Button, McLaren, 43
3. Fernando Alonso, Ferrari, 37
4. Mark Webber, Red Bull, 36
5. Sebastian Vettel, Red Bull, 28
6. Nico Rosberg, Mercedes, 25
7. Sergio Perez, Sauber, 22
8. Kimi Raikkonen, Lotus, 16
9. Bruno Senna, Williams, 14
10. Kamui Kobayashi, Sauber, 9