Defending world champion Sebastian Vettel cruised to his fourth consecutive win and extended his lead in this year's title race to 13 points when he steered his Red Bull car to victory in the Indian Grand Prix.

The 25-year-old German dominated the race from start to finish as he led from pole to the chequered flag to come home ahead of nearest championship rival, Fernando Alonso of Ferrari.

Fernando Alonso meanwhile took the runners-up spot, passing Mark Webber for second in the final third of the race. Lewis Hamilton was fourth, finishing right on the tail of Webber, ahead of Jenson Button, Felipe Massa and Kimi Raikkonen. Nico Hulkenberg, Romain Grosjean and Bruno Senna complete the points' scorers.

1. Sebastian Vettel     Germany    Red Bull-Renault    60 laps 1hr 31m 10.744s
2. Fernando Alonso     Spain     Ferrari-Ferrari     +0m 09.4s
3. Mark Webber     Australia    Red Bull-Renault    +0m 13.2s
4. Lewis Hamilton     Britain     McLaren-Mercedes    +0m 13.9s
5. Jenson Button     Britain     McLaren-Mercedes    +0m 26.2s
6. Felipe Massa     Brazil     Ferrari-Ferrari     +0m 44.6s
7. Kimi Raikkonen     Finland     Lotus-Renault     +0m 45.2s
8. Nico Hulkenberg     Germany    Force India-Mercedes    +0m 54.9s
9. Romain Grosjean     France     Lotus-Renault     +0m 56.1s
10. Bruno Senna     Brazil     Williams-Renault    +1m 14.9s